Colorado Revised Statutes Section 18-7-301 (Public Indecency): Prohibiting certain public sexual activities. This is a Class 1 Petty Offense punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and up to $500 in fines. Colorado Revised Statutes Section 18-7-302 (Indecent Exposure): Prohibiting the public exposing of one's genitals and public masturbation.
In Colorado, sexting could be considered sexual exploitation of a child if someone who is considered a minor is involved. As of January 2018, a new law in Colorado will allow more flexibility for law enforcement to determine which cases are truly sexual exploitation and which are consensual exchanges of sexual images.
This memorandum provides an overview of state laws that address age of consent for sexual activity. More specifically, it provides information about the age of sexual consent in Colorado and other states, including exemptions that allow a person below the age of consent to have lawful sex with an older person.
Even if the sex is consensual, statutory rape is prosecuted as sexual assault (CRS 18-3-402). The only exceptions are if the people involved are married or fall within Colorado’s Romeo and Juliet law exception. Depending on the case, a violation of Colorado’s statutory rape laws can be a felony or a misdemeanor.
17 years of age. In Colorado, the age of consent legally to have sex is seventeen (17) years old.However, under the close-in-age exception (Romeo and Juliet law), a 15 or 16-year-old may legally consent to sex with someone less than 10 years older, and minors 14 and younger may legally consent to sex with someone less than four years older.
The size of Colorado's sex offender registry, now at roughly 20,000 people, is but one in a slew of reasons a growing chorus of lawyers, lawmakers, researchers, people on the registry itself, and ...
Colorado Governor Bill Ritter signed the bills into law and stated the following in a June 7, 2010 press release: “House Bill 1284 provides a regulatory framework for dispensaries, including giving local communities the ability to ban or place sensible and much-needed controls on the operation, location and ownership of these establishments.
Liberty Common School in Fort Collins is the first in the state to apply for a waiver to Colorado’s new sex ed law. The law, passed in May, requires public schools teaching sex ed to use a ...
ISO 3533, “Sex toys: Design and Safety Requirements for Products in Direct Contact with Genitalia, the Anus, or Both,” lays out specs for sex, from the types of materials safe for contact with ...
Colorado sex offender registry laws usually permit convicted sex offenders from other states to travel to Colorado. However, visitors are considered temporary residents and must therefore register in Colorado if they either: stay for more than 14 days, or. stay for more than 30 days in a calendar year.